Home | Menu | Poem | Jokes | Games | Science | Omss বাংলা | Celibrity Video | Dictionary

Poets Biography

Bollywood Actor Nana Patekar 1951

Vishwanath "Nana" Patekar (Marathi: नाना पाटेकर) (born 1 January 1951) is an Indian actor and filmmaker. Born Vishwanath Patekar in Murud-Janjira, Maharashtra, to Dinkar Patekar (a painter) and his wife Sanjanabai Patekar. He is an alumnus of the Sir J.J. Institute of Applied Art, Mumbai.

Born Vishwanath Patekar
1 January 1951 (1951-01-01) (age 60)
Murud-Janjira, Maharashtra, India
Occupation Actor, Filmmaker
Years active 1978 – present
Spouse Neelakanti Patekar
Parents Dinkar Patekar
Sanjana Patekar

He acted in movies such as Gaman (1978), Mohre (1987) and Salaam Bombay! (1988) and was noticed by the mainstream Bollywood industry for his portrayal of the villain in the 1989 film, Parinda, for which he won his first National Film Award for Best Supporting Actor. He was also awarded the Filmfare Best Supporting Actor Award for the role. He won the Filmfare Best Villain Award in 1992 for Angaar.

In 1994, he won the National Film Award for Best Actor for his performance in Krantiveer (1994). He also won the Filmfare Award and the Star Screen Awards in the best actor category.

Patekar has played various type of roles. He has played the occasional villain but has played a hero in most of his films. He played a truant, gambling son in Krantiveer (1994), a wife beater in Agni Sakshi (1996), a deaf and dumb father to his then off-screen lover Manisha Koirala in Khamoshi: The Musical (1996) and a schizophrenic in Wajood (1998). In the movie Ab Tak Chappan (2005) he plays a police officer whose main task is to rid the streets of underworld dons. Patekar has also done Comic roles in the recent film Welcome (2007) in which he plays a powerful crime lord who once desired to be an actor in films.

He turned director with his movie Prahaar: The Final Attack co-starring Madhuri Dixit. His other films as an actor include Hu Tu Tu and Bluff Master. For his performance in Apaharan, he received the Filmfare Best Villain Award as well as the Star Screen Award Best Villain. He is going to be in Sangeeth Sivan's next film, which is a remake of the Telugu film Athadu (2005) and as the character Anjaneya Prasad (CBI Officer), Which was originally played by Prakash Raj.

Patekar has also done some playback singing in the films Yeshwant (1997), Wajood (1998) and Aanch (2003).

He has an honorary Captain's Rank from Indian Army. He underwent training for his role as a Army officer in the movie Prahaar. He was thus awarded the rank. He joined the Territorial Army (India) in early 90s. At the age of 54, he took up the sport of rifle shooting. He qualified for the G.V. Malvankar Championships.

He has also acted in couple of Marathi movies and plays. He is known to give generously to the poor.


Award Film Year Status
  • National Film Award
National Film Award for Best Actor Krantiveer 1995 Won
National Film Award for Best Supporting Actor Parinda 1990 Won
National Film Award for Best Supporting Actor Agni Sakshi 1997 Won
  • Filmfare Award
Filmfare Best Actor Award Krantiveer 1995 Won
Filmfare Best Supporting Actor Award Andha Yudh 1989 Nominated
Filmfare Best Supporting Actor Award Parinda 1990 Won
Filmfare Best Supporting Actor Award Raju Ban Gaya Gentleman 1993 Nominated
Filmfare Best Supporting Actor Award Tirangaa 1994 Nominated
Filmfare Best Supporting Actor Award Raajneeti 2011 Nominated
Filmfare Best Villain Award Angaar 1992 Won
Filmfare Best Villain Award Shakti – The Power 2003 Nominated
Filmfare Best Villain Award Apaharan 2008 Won
Filmfare Best Supporting Actor Award Rajneeti 2011 Nominated
  • Star Screen Awards
Star Screen Award Best Actor Krantiveer 1995 Won
Star Screen Award Best Villain Apaharan 2006 Won
  • Bengal Film Journalists' Association Awards
Bengal Film Journalists' Association - Best Actor Award (Hindi) Ab Tak Chhappan 2004 Won

Patekar is the only actor ever to win Filmfare Awards in the Best Actor, Best Supporting Actor and Best Villain categories.



Year↓ Film↓ Role↓
1978 Gaman Vasu
1984 Aaj Ki Awaaz Jagmohandas
1986 Ankush Ravindra Kelkar 'Ravi'
1986 Lord Mountbatten: The Last Viceroy Nathuram Godse
1986 Maaficha Sakshidar (Marathi film)
based on Joshi-Abhyankar serial murders
Rajendra Jakkal
1987 Sutradhaar Kumar
1987 Andhaa Yudh S.P. Suhas Dandekar
1987 Pratighaat Ex-Constable Karamveer
1988 Salaam Bombay Baba
1990s The Jungle Book (Hindi) Shere Khan (Voice)
1990 Parinda Anna Seth
1990 Thodasa Roomani Ho Jaayen Natwarlal aka Dhrushtadyumna Padmanabh Prajapati Neelkant Dhumketu Barish Kar
1991 Prahaar: The Final Attack Major Chauhan
1991 Disha Koga Pandit
1992 Tirangaa Shivajirao Wagle
1992 Raju Ban Gaya Gentleman Jai
1992 Angaar Majid Khan
1994 Krantiveer Pratap Narayan Tilak
1995 Hum Dono Vishal Saigal
1996 Agni Sakshi Vishwanath
1996 Khamoshi: The Musical Joseph Braganza
1997 Ghulam-E-Musthafa Ghulam -E- Musthafa
1997 Yeshwant Yeshwant Lohar
1998 Yugpurush: A Man Who Comes Just Once in a Way Anirudh
1998 Wajood Malhar Gopaldas Agnihotri/Col. Latti
1999 Hu Tu Tu Bhau
1999 Kohram: The Explosion Maj. Ajit Arya
2000 Gang Abdul
2000 Tarkieb CBI Inspector Jasraj Patel
2002 Vadh Dr. Arjun Singh
2002 Shakti - The Power Narasimha
2003 Bhoot Inspector Liyaqat Qureshi
2003 Darna Mana Hai John Rodrigues
2003 Aanch Mahadev
2004 Ab Tak Chhappan Inspector Sadhu Agashe
2005 Apaharan Tabrez Alam
2005 Pak Pak Pakaak (Marathi film) Bhutya
2005 Bluff Master Chandru Parekh
2006 Taxi Number 9211 Raghav Shastri
2007 Hattrick Doctor
2007 Dus Kahaniyaan Man in the bus
2007 Welcome Don Uday Shetty
2007 Yatra Dasrath Joglekar
2006 Saamna (Announced) Guru
2007 The Pool Bunglow Owner
2008 Ek - The Power of One CBI Officer Rane
2009 Horn 'OK' Pleassss Govinda
2008 Bommalattam
2010 Paathshala Principle Aditya Sahay
2010 Rajneeti Brij Gopal
2010 Tum Milo Toh Sahi Subramanium
2011 Shagird Hanumant Singh
2011 It's My Life Businessman


Year Film
1991 Prahaar: The Final Attack

Poet Dilwar Khan 1937

Dilwar Khan (Kabi Dilwar) (Born on 1 January 1937 in Sylhet, Bangladesh) is a Bangladeshi poet famous for writing on behalf of the poor and neglected people.

Dilwar Khan is the only poet known as "Gono Manusher Kabi" which means Poet of the People. He describes the struggles of the lower class through poems, short stories, essays and journal articles. He is recipient of the nation's highest award in poetry (Bangla Academy Award) in 1980 and Academy Fellowship(#126) in 1981. He was awarded the Ekushey Padak, the highest civilian award, for literature in 2008.